Ore. Drops Degree Requirement for Substitute Teachers
Oregon’s teacher licensing board has temporarily suspended a college-degree requirement for substitute teachers. According to Oregonlive.com, the decision by the Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission responds to a shortage of licensed substitute teachers across the state. Prior to the pandemic, the commission reported about 8,300 licensed substitutes. That number has fallen to only 4,700.
Calif. Lawmakers Blast Nursing Home Oversight
California lawmakers blasted health department officials Oct. 5 for the state’s oversight of nursing homes, which saw more than 9,200 residents die of COVID during the past 18 months. According to CalMatters, much of the criticism offered during a committee hearing focused on an opaque state licensing process that has been the subject of extensive CalMatters coverage.
Nurse Practitioners, Others May Prescribe Medical Pot in N.J.
Nurse practitioners and physician assistants may now enroll patients in New Jersey’s medical marijuana program. According to N.J. Advance Media, the state Cannabis Regulatory Commission announced the changes Oct. 8. They are the result of a two-year-old state law that reduces doctor-visit requirements for medical marijuana patients.
Calif. Cuts Barber, Cosmetologist Training Requirements
California Gov. Gavin Newsom signed a bill Oct. 7 that cuts the number of training hours required to become a barber or cosmetologist. According to The Sacramento Bee, licensure will now require only 1,000 hours of training, which is 600 fewer than required previously. Would-be barbers and cosmetologists also will not need to take a hands-on exam. Meanwhile, a new program created for hairstylists will require only 600 hours of training.
Therapist’s Charges Raise Vetting Questions in Ariz.
Sexual-abuse charges filed against an Arizona massage therapist have raised questions about the thoroughness of vetting conducted by the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy. Timothy Williams allegedly touched a client inappropriately during two massages in 2020. Following an investigation by the Flagstaff Police, he was charged Aug. 30 with two counts of sexual abuse. Years ago, in 2002, Williams surrendered his Arizona physical therapy license after a woman claimed he touched her inappropriately during a massage. Nonetheless, he applied for and received an Arizona massage license in 2011. The state has no central database that would allow licensing boards to prevent “license shopping,” according to the Arizona Republic.
Mich. Adult Foster Care Facility Loses License
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs has suspended the license of an adult foster care facility for several violations, including a failure to keep resident records. According to The Detroit News, licensing officials began investigating True Tender Loving Care Adult Fostering after receiving complaints. During a surprise inspection, facility officials were unable to provide records of employee background checks, employee training and clients’ health information. On one surprise visit, workers refused to let inspectors into the facility.
Stay up to date
Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest regulatory news delivered to your inbox each week.