Calif. Eyes Medical Board Reform
Lawmakers in California are considering a bill that would revamp the State Medical Board, according to KGET. The bill addresses claims that the board treats doctors who harm patients too leniently. Supporters point to the case of a Sacramento woman and her child, both of whom died in 2019 during childbirth. Their doctor had been disciplined in the past for instances of gross negligence like those that led to the deaths of Demi and Malaki Dominguez. The bill would increase the number of public members on the medical board.
Ohio May Soon Require Hospital Licensure
Hospitals in Ohio may soon face licensure requirements, according to The National Law Review. Currently, the state’s hospitals are subject to registration and reporting requirements, though licenses are required for certain hospital services. Provisions of a budget bill under consideration would require each hospital to obtain a license from the state Director of Health.
Tenn. Roofing Contractor Cited in Teen’s Fatal Fall
Following the fatal plunge of a 16-year-old worker, a Tennessee roofing contractor was fined more than $122,000 for violating federal labor law, the U.S. Department of Labor announced May 25. The teenager, who was working for Stover and Sons Contractors Inc., fell more than 160 feet to his death when he climbed over a barrier and tried to jump onto a power-driven hoisting device next to the building. The company was cited for multiple violations of the law, including a prohibition on workers below the age of 18 on roofing projects.
N.J. Lifts Child Care Group Limit
New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy announced May 26 that COVID-related limits on child-care classes would no longer be in effect. However, masks would still be required, according to Advance Media. Class groups had been limited to 15 members since June 2020, but may now return to their normal size. While Murphy signed an order to eliminate New Jersey’s mask mandate in most public places beginning May 28, the rule relaxation does not apply to schools, which include child care facilities.
Pa. Bill Targets Concealed Weapons Licensing
Legislation that would allow qualified Pennsylvania residents to carry concealed weapons without a license is proceeding through the state Legislature, according to Patch. The bill would allow anyone 21 or older to carry a concealed firearm after passing a criminal background check. It has passed in the state House and is under consideration in the Senate.
Stay up to date
Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest regulatory news delivered to your inbox each week.